skip to main content

Newcomers Guide to Ashburton District

PDF booklet guide

About Ashburton District

Our district includes the main towns and localities of Ashburton (Hakatere), Methven (Piwakawaka), Rakaia (Ō Rakaia), Mount Somers (Te Kiekie), Hinds (Hekeao) and Mount Hutt (Opuke).Located 80 kilometres south of Christchurch (Ōtautahi), Ashburton District is in the central South Island (Te Waipounamu).

The district is surrounded by the Pacific Ocean in the east, Southern Alps in the west and the Rakaia and Rangitata Rivers to the north and south respectively.

The district covers around 6,175 square kilometres with a population of more than 34,000.

Our population is forecast to become more multicultural and diverse, growing by some 6,500 residents over the next 25 years.

Ashburton District offers over 200 sports clubs and many community and sports facilities.

The iwi (Māori indigenous people) that hold mana whenua (customary authority) status in Ashburton District are Te Rūnanga o Arowhenua and Ngāi Tahu.



+ Text Size -